Blogs / bkloppenborg's blog / GAM / Beginner Chat (Friday, April 9)

GAM / Beginner Chat (Friday, April 9)

Citizen Sky is now officially permanent part of the AAVSO. In the coming weeks we will be moving additional content to the AAVSO site and freezing this site as an archive of the 1st three years of the project. Please visit the new landing page for future updates.

Posted by bkloppenborg on April 8, 2010 - 11:40am

We will be hosting a chat this Friday, April 9 starting at 16 UT (Noon Eastern, 11:00 AM Central, 10:00 AM Mountain, and 9:00 AM Pacific).  This chat is a little different than our previous chats because we have partnered up with Astronomers Without Borders and their Global Astronomy Month project.

This chat will be much like our other "Beginners' Chats" in the past in that the goal will be to answer questions about Citizen Sky, Astronomers without Borders, epsilon Aurigae, and/or astronomy in general. The tone will be tailored to new participants in the project so this is a great chance to find out more about the project without feeling overwhelmed by the scale of the project. Also, Rebecca Turner, the project manager, will be on hand to answer general questions about Citizen Sky.

Because of the lag we experienced during the last heavily-attended chat, we recommend that people connect using a stand-alone IRC client.  Please try out the chat client before connecting so you don't miss any of the chat.  If you don't have time to install the client, you can still connect using the web-based chat below.

To join the chat via. the web-based client, simply point your web browser to the URL below:

            http://www.aavso.org/cgi-bin/irc.cgi

At that page, type in your name and press "Login". You'll be taken to the chat room where you can type in a message for others to read or you can just watch the discussion silently.
 

We hope to see you there!

Username:
Password:
Powered by Drupal